LGBT equality in Facebook Games

So I’ve started playing a game called Social Life on Facebook which is currently in it’s BETA stage. It’s an okay game, I’ve only been playing it for about an hour so I can’t tell you much about it, except that it follows the same kind of style as The Sims Social. If you don’t know what that is, it’s not important- Google it if you really care.

Here’s the important part to my story: they have asked players to vote on whether there should be a gender lock on clothing available for avatars i.e. whether the male/female characters in the game can wear any clothes rather than those made for their own gender.

Players overwhelmingly voted against having a gender lock on clothes which means that they can choose for their avatars to wear whatever the fuck they like regardless of preconceived notions of what men and women should be wearing.

 

Image

 

In case you can’t tell, I’m pretty happy about this.

And then, I go to their fanpage again (I’ve only been playing for an hour, I’m looking for the free gifts) and see this:

Capture2

 

That’s right, the game is offering equal marriage (men to women, men to men, women to women) as an option and I hope it wins. Although it’s terrible that you can married to the one you love in a game before you can be married in real life.

I know that this is a really small victory for LGBT equality but a lot of small victories can win a war, right?

Anyway, if you want to like the game their fanpage is here: https://www.facebook.com/theBestGameEverMade.I’m not kidding, that is their fanpage but still, good on them for supporting LGBT equality.

 

Note: I’m aware of EA’s support of LGBT equality. The Sims Social allowed you to be in same-sex relationships within the game (I was in one) and they let you switch genders (I did) but they wouldn’t let you take your clothes with you 😦 That probably is more to do with making more money as I buy extra clothes though.

Note 2: I never paid any actual money to any internet game.

Leave a Reply

