A little advice

I was having a hard time adjusting to Uni life in my first term and all I wanted to do was run home.

5251ca2396ca881977b773fb7802672e

I was crying down the phone to my dad one night in late October, telling him that I was thinking of packing it all in. He tried to comfort me, but from six hour’s drive away, it was near impossible. The next day I checked my email to find that my dad- possibly the biggest technophobe on the planet- had downloaded Bobby McFerrin’s ‘Don’t Worry, Be Happy’ and emailed it to me (using my mother’s account).

When I called him, he explained that I was putting too much pressure on myself. He said I was too young to be so unhappy and I needed to take a break, talk to my tutors and reduce my work levels.

So after having an honest conversation with my dad, I talked to my tutors about how under pressure I felt and they were kind enough to offer me extensions on my work and help me with the bits I didn’t understand. I talked to my friends and realised they were feeling the same way. And all because of my dad’s advice, I didn’t feel alone anymore.

Leave a Reply

