The Importance of Being Angry

You know what really grinds my gears?

When people say; “Getting angry never solved anything”.

Because one, they’re trying to delegitimize my feelings and make it seem like I’m overreacting and two, they’re implying that the way to solve the problem is through blind hope and fingers crossed and love.

So my response to them is: No. Fuck off.

Getting angry solves things because those that are angry about those things work to solve them. They don’t want to be angry, they want the problem solved and no one else is doing anything.

Let’s get real here, the people who are telling us to “calm down” are not our supporters, they aren’t working towards the same goal as us. They just don’t want us to make a scene. It’s not cool to care, especially if it interferes with brunch.

Women didn’t get the vote by asking politely; it took Emily Davidson’s death while trying to hang a protest banner on the King’s horse and the horrific sufferings of hundreds of other women to achieve women’s suffrage. Homosexuality wasn’t decriminalised because gay people  crossed their fucking fingers.

People will try to tell you that Nelson Mandela, MLK or Gandhi didn’t get angry and they still made a difference. Now they may not have taken to Twitter to call the oppressive forces they were fighting against ‘cunts’ but if they were fighting these battles today, maybe they would.

Also, you seem to be under the impression that anger equates to children throwing a temper tantrum when they can’t get the toy they want or a teenager slamming their door and blasting rock music when they aren’t allowed to go to a party.

Sure, that’s a type of anger, but do you know what else is? Seeing a problem in society, which no one else appears to care about and doing something about it.

To my friends, I’m not sorry that I made you feel upset over lunch because I thought that you would also be concerned about the plight of women under the Iranian Regime.

To my family, I’m not sorry that I caused that rift in our family through my support for LGBT+ rights.

To the people who follow me on social media, I’m not sorry that I share news articles or petitions or my opinions. The internet need not just be a place for dank memes and cat videos; it was designed to change the fucking world and you’re the ones corrupting it by embodying the See No Evil, Hear No Evil, Speak No Evil monkey emoji.

Emoji-Tech-large_trans++Do1PhbPPiB1HBZscUHLBE7foC6xayYCSvVfwx0wnj4A

In addition to your regularly scheduled rant, here is Doug Stanhope explaining his views on observational comedy. In short: It’s not enough to just notice.

“Did you notice…”

“Yeah, I have. Who’s responsible? What are we gonna do about it?…Oh, nothing. That’s good enough for you?”

Leave a Reply

