Shout Out: ASDA and gender-neutral pronouns

This is a short one but a good one.

I was pleasantly surprised when I was ordering groceries online the other day (which is something that I never thought I’d say). I had to make an account with ASDA in order to schedule a click+collect- I won’t bore you with my shopping list; when I came to check out I noticed that ‘Mx’ was one of the options for the Title.

asda

 

Mx is a non-gender specific title which can be used by non-binary people as well as those who don’t wish to reveal their gender.

It was added to the OED last year and to Merrian-Webster earlier this year.

So, I just wanted to give a shout out to ASDA for being gender-inclusive.

Leave a Reply

