On writing

Since I first learnt to hold a pen, I’ve been keen to write but it wasn’t always legible. My mind works faster than my hands so I didn’t have the time to be neat; that’s for the editing stage- not the first draft.

I am obsessed with writing; as Edward Norton once said, “Sometimes creativity is a compulsion, not an ambition”.  I’m driven by the need to record my experiences; although, I’m not quite the ‘voice of my generation’.

a

It’s not that I want my words to be read- although that would be fantastic- I just need to get them out. I’ll wake up in the middle of the night to jot down plot points, article angles, research ideas. If I am ever without my notepad, I write on whatever’s available; a receipt, a napkin, my own arm.

Writing allows me to work through personal issues: to process them on the page before I deal with them in real life. It has saved me from making the wrong decision or saying the wrong thing because I was able to predict the consequences and express negative emotions in a story rather than directly to someone.

Writing can sometimes turn up harmful things. When you use the medium to process emotions, it’s no surprise that it can bring up unhealthy thoughts and it had the potential to hurt you.

8237c55a17b6311f1e5cc52d9080bfd8

To sum up; writing both harms and heals me, it calms and excites me, it is my personal barometer for how my life is going. #WhyIWrite

National Day on Writing; October 20, 2017.

Leave a Reply

