I wanna be a… radio presenter

Lucy Horobin presents In:Demand across Baurer’s Big City Network. She has previously worked at Trent FM and she studied Broadcast Journalism at Nottingham Trent University.

She has interviewed some big stars like The Wanted, Chipmunk, Robbie Williams and the Saturdays. It appears to be the perfect job for any music junkie, but what’s it really like?

 

How long have you known you wanted to be a radio presenter?

Since my housemates and I started hosting a radio show on Nottingham Trent Uni’s station Fly FM. We did it three times a week and called ourselves The Foxy Ladies. We had such a laugh doing it, said lots of stuff you’d never get away with, and most importantly, it made me realise that I wanted to work in radio as a career.

 

How long have you worked at Rock FM?

I’ve been here since the start of 2007, which is quite a long time in one job in radio.

 

What are your actual duties?

It’s very varied, but everyday we prep the show, which will include how we’ll run competitions, questions for star guest interviews, ideas for future features on the show, updating our Facebook and Twitter accounts with the latest showbiz news, the list is endless really!

 

What is a typical working day like?

There is no typical working day on In:Demand! Every day is different which is why I love it so much. I’d get so bored if I did the same thing every day. For example, today I’m busy listening to new music for future Chosen One’s (a feature on our show), discussing taking the show to Paris with a star guest and replying to lots of important emails, like this one! That’s just for starters!

 

What’s the best part of your job?

I’ll be completely honest and say that getting to meet some of my childhood idols is amazing. I barely held it together when I interviewed Robbie Williams, I didn’t know how to react when he playfully flirted with me! Obviously, I embarrassed myself by revealing I used to kiss his poster above my bed every night. Jeez.

 

Who are your role models?

My late Grandad is my role model. He used to be the Deputy News Editor at ITN many years ago, and was a cheeky yet highly intelligent, hardworking man, who was brilliant at his job. If I can be even marginally as good as he was, then I’ll be a happy girl. He will always be my inspiration.

 

What’s the most important lesson you’ve learnt in your job?

Speak up when you need to, don’t take any crap, and most importantly, grow a thick skin. Make sure you shine, don’t be a wallflower!!

 

Are there any special skills needed for radio presenting?

You need to appear to be very confident (even if you’re not, just pretend you are), chatty and be technically able. If you’re female – this is even more important. I’d hate to not be able to drive a desk, and there are women I know of that can’t, which is pointless if you’re serious about being a presenter.

 

What advice would you give to anyone who wanted to become a radio presenter?

Expect to have lots of fun, don’t expect to be paid bucket-loads (doesn’t happen unless you’re Chris Moyles), and most of all – work hard. You’ll be noticed more for working hard and being good at what you do than turning up half an hour before your show!

 

Where can this career path take you?

Wherever you want it to.

 

Catch Lucy next on In:Demand with Alex and Lucy at 7pm, Monday to Friday. Or follow her on twitter @InDemandLucy

Leave a Reply

