4 ways to learn for free online (that don’t involve falling down a Wikipedia rabbit hole)

If you’re like me, you love to learn and wish you could spend your days holed up with about thirty books or you’ve tried to sneak into a university lecture while on holiday in Europe…

It’s not just a pure love of knowledge that drives us to education, though; sometimes we have to prove we have certain skills for a job or promotion. Whether you need to learn Italian to transfer abroad or need something intelligent to say in job interviews.

I’ve stockpiled some ways for you to learn for free.

Highbrow

Think you don’t have time to learn? So did I; I balance writing a book with running a blog with a freelance writing career. The last time that I had to learn was 2012.

Well, I was wrong.

Highbrow sends you a daily email summarising one key person, event or object that is important to the subject you’ve chosen to learn about.

Each email only takes about 5-10 minutes to read and I find that it sets me up for the day; I log in, delete the spam I’ve received and then I read my Hiighbrow email while drinking my coffee.

Smarter in 10 minutes, how about that?

Capture

Ivy League Courses

Did you know you can actually take Ivy League courses on your computer? You don’t get class credit for them but this is a brilliant resource if you want to learn more from the best in the world.

Where do you want to start? Harvard Extension School’s Abstract Algebra or Yale Open Course’s Early Modern England?

Capture

Babbel

With Babbel, you learn foreign languages online and you can choose between beginner and advanced.  You also choose age and reason for learning to further specify what they teach you.

The format is a multi-choice quiz and it’s pretty addictive.

Disclaimer: This is only free to start with. Prices apply after you reach a certain point in learning.

Crash Course

Crash Course is a series from John and Hank Green which teaches you subjects like world history, philosophy, economics and biology in 15-minute videos. It’s funny and informative.

Leave a Reply

